Categories
Blog Tour Book Review

Book Review – The Guilty Wife by Nina Manning

Thank you for letting me be part of this blog tour for this brilliant psychological thriller.

Blurb

One woman’s past could cost her everything..
Frankie Keegan is struggling.
While she tries to make strides in her career, life at home is slowly unravelling as she is haunted by the secrets of her past.

Someone else remembers…
As the dark nights draw in, the anniversary of the loss of her brother looms and Frankie is drawn back to the memories of that fateful night 20 years previously. As she descends into a guilt-ridden state, she begins to suspect that someone else is also remembering that night and they are determined to terrify her…

Can she confront her past before it’s too late?

From the international bestselling author of The Daughter In Law, a gripping psychological thriller about family, secrecy and grief – with a twist you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of K L Slater, Shalini Boland and Lisa Jewell.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/38Kj9OY

My Review

I really enjoyed this psychological thriller, before I knew it, I was on 42%. I whizzed through this and read it in just over 24 hours. Emotional, engaging and with the right intensity it’s a must read.

The story alternates between two parts of Frankie’s life, when she was sixteen and then now, 20 years later.  You get to know Frankie as a girl.  How she felt to be in love, the build up to the incident and how she come to be the way she was. I loved the change it chapters, it unravelled the story and was easy to keep up with.

Clearly having gone through such an emotional trauma of losing her brother I felt sad for Frankie throughout the story. The now part of the story, I really feared for her safety. You truly felt for her and her struggles. Yet at the same time I wanted her to stop burying her head in the sand. How she blocked things out was very sad. I think Damian could have been a bit kinder to her too. She was such a vulnerable character and due to this you never knew what she was going to do next. Which I loved as it kept you wanting more.

I didn’t suspect who could be messing with Frankie. All throughout the story got you thinking all sorts and second guessing everyone that was close to Frankie. The twist was done very well. I loved the ending it was perfect.

I really liked Nina’s writing style and certainly will be reading more. I’ve got my eye on The Daughter In Law. Has anyone read it?

Author Bio –

Nina Manning studied psychology and was a restaurant-owner and private chef (including to members of the royal family). She is the founder and co-host of Sniffing The Pages, a book review podcast. Her debut psychological thriller, The Daughter in Law, was a bestseller in the UK, US, Australia and Canada. She lives in Dorset.

Social Media Links –

Newsletter: http://bit.ly/NinaManningNewsletter

Own website  https://www.ninamanningauthor.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ninamanningauthor1/

Twitter @ https://twitter.com/ninamanning78

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/ninamanning_author/

YouTube https://youtu.be/6-s3uIGpNUo

Podcast Podcast: www.anchor.fm/ninamanning

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/nina-manning

Categories
Book Review

Book review: Lies by T.M. Logan

Joe is happily married and plodding along with his ordinary life, when a last-minute decision changes everything. Seeing his wife involved in a heated argument with family friend Ben. Joe stops at nothing to find out what’s going on. What was she doing with him? why wasn’t she picking up her phone? Why did she lie about where she was? .

My mother in law said read this, its gripping you won’t want to put it down. Well she wasn’t wrong. I read this in a few days. It was amazing. You know one of those books where you cannot stop reading as you think you are close to finding out the next piece of the puzzle… Then something else happens which throws you completely off and then you don’t want to put it down as you might miss something.


The story featured some strong characters, some were next level that you would not want as a friend or to meet down a dark alley!! It was so well written and very clever. All the detail and research that went into this, was outstanding. .

I loved the unexpected ending. You will have to read for yourself, I cannot give any spoilers out.

You won’t believe it though. If you have read it and was shocked as I was, let me know.