Book Review – Only When Its Love by Olivia Spring

I’m a massive fan of Olivia’s books and was thrilled when I got invited to the Book Birthday Blitz for Only when it’s love. Thank you Olivia and Rachel for inviting me.

Happy 2nd book birthday Olivia.


Alex is tired of being single. After years of disastrous hook-ups and relationships that lead to the bedroom but nowhere else, Alex is convinced she’ll never find her Mr Right. Then her newly married friend Stacey recommends what worked for her: a self-help book that guarantees Alex will find true love in just seven steps. Sounds simple, right? 

Except Alex soon discovers that each step is more difficult than the last, and one of the rules involves dating, but not sleeping with a guy for six months. Absolutely no intimate contact whatsoever. Zero. Nada. Rien. A big challenge for Alex, who has never been one to hold back from jumping straight into the sack, hoping it will help a man fall for her. 

Will any guys be willing to wait? Will Alex find her Mr Right? And if she does, will she be strong enough to resist temptation and hold out for true love?

Join Alex on her roller coaster romantic journey as she tries to cope with the emotional and physical ups and downs of dating whilst following a lengthy list of rigid rules.

Only When It’s Love is a fun, feel-good, romantic comedy by British author Olivia Spring, about self-acceptance, determination, love and the challenge of finding the one. 

The sequel, When’s The Wedding? will be published on 25thMarch 2021.

Purchase Link

Amazon UK:

Amazon US:

Book Review

This was hilarious, fun and made me flick through the pages greedily to find out if she found her Mr right!  

Alex absolutely loves having fun with men, but has reached the point of being fed up with the men that come and go into her life as they please.  Alex now wants a proper relationship. Which she has struggled to find.

Seeking her newly married friend Stacey’s advice, she gets given a book with a set of rules for how to find the one! 7 steps which one includes no sleeping with dates for six months! You might as well tell Alex she can’t eat for six months!

The dates Alex has during this challenge are a real eye opener!! Some hilarious and some not so funny. Some really cute, some awful and pretentious. I can actually imagine this stuff actually happens in real life! Alex – a massive overthinker, makes mistakes, thought about marriage and kids after a few dates, was blind to things. All that just made her endearing and funny. Her feelings I can imagine are relatable to a lot of people who have or are dating.   

Lucky Stacey was there to guide her. I absolutely adored Stacey, everyone needs a friend like Stacey. She spoke sense and tried to help Alex out. Especially with making her decision easier! Even though things were obvious to us and Stacey!! She was brilliant.  

There was a few characters in this that were less likable, I wont give any spoilers away, ill let you read and judge for yourself.

As well as humour there was the romance and chemistry feels. Olivia wrote about the sweetest romantic dates. Cheese as its best! I also loved all the romantic comedy films that got a mention. This was the perfect book to read about valentines day.  

If you want a light hearted book that will make you laugh, have you routing for the main character from the first chapter and enjoy some fun with some hot men along the way, I highly recommend this.

I cannot wait for the next book. I have to know what happened next.

Author Bio – 

Olivia Spring is a British, London-based writer of contemporary women’s fiction, sexy chick lit and romantic comedy. Her uplifting debut novel The Middle-Aged Virgin, which was released in July 2018, deals with being newly single in your thirties and beyond, dating, relationships, love, sex and living life to the full.

In addition to The Middle-Aged Virgin, Olivia has published four novels: The Middle-Aged Virgin in Italy, Love Offline, Losing My Inhibitions and Only When It’s Love. When’s The Wedding?, the hotly anticipated sequel to Only When It’s Loveand Olivia’s sixth novel, will be published in March 2021.

When she’s not writing, Olivia can be found travelling to Italy to indulge in pasta, pizza and gelato and of course, seeking inspiration for her next book!

Social Media Links – 

Twitter/Instagram/Facebook: @ospringauthor



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *